EV Awards 2024


DOT-43 (2)

Aoife O’Grady

Head of Zero Emission Vehicles Ireland, Department of Transport

Aoife O’Grady is Head of Zero Emission Vehicles Ireland, a new Government Office within the Department of Transport, which supports the uptake of vehicles through grants and incentives and also funds EV charging infrastructure. Aoife has worked for both the Irish and UK Governments in the field of transport for almost 20 years, with a focus on strategy and sustainability. By training a social scientist, Aoife has a BA from Trinity College, Dublin and an MA and PhD from the University of Warwick.


Blake Boland

Head of Communications, AA Ireland

Blake Boland is Head of Communications for AA Ireland. Established in 1910, they are one of the most recognisable brands in the country. AA Membership and Breakdown Rescue gets much of the Irish motoring industry back on the road 24/7, 365 days of the year. The company also has a rapidly expanding Insurance business, providing Motor, Home and Travel policies.

Blake studied International Business & Languages in DIT, before completing a Masters in Translation Studies from DCU. He is a keen outdoor swimmer, currently in training to take part in a relay swim across the English Channel in 2024.


Derek Reilly

General Manager, Nevo.ie

Derek Reilly is the General Manager for Nevo.ie, Ireland’s only dedicated electric vehicle platform. Nevo is the customer’s home of electric motoring regardless of the stage in their purchase journey. We constantly strive to foster a sense of community and trust, Nevo regularly features insightful help and advice articles that are aimed at highlighting the benefits of EV ownership, unraveling any concerns or myths, and guiding readers toward informed choices.

Derek is passionate about electric vehicles. In 2020 he launched “Nevo EV Review Ireland” on YouTube and it has already become Ireland’s leading EV YouTube channel. On the channel, Derek reviews everything from electric micro-mobility all the way up to electric vans and buses. Derek only reviews fully electric vehicles.

Derek started the channel to drive the awareness and adoption of electric vehicles and has already had viewers contact him to say they have purchased an EV because of his reviews. Derek is also the founder of the Dublin EV Owners Club for those in and around the Dublin region who already own an EV or are EV-curious. Derek is a regular EV contributor to Jess Kelly’s “Tech Talk” show on Newstalk FM along with also contributing on the breakfast show on Dublin’s Q102 with Aidan and Venetia.

gherbert_HS_2-1-1-1 (1)

Geraldine Herbert

Columnist & Motoring Editor, Sunday Independent

Geraldine Herbert is columnist and motoring editor at the Sunday Independent and Ireland’s first female motoring editor of a national newspaper. A regular contributor to Radio and TV including RTE, Virgin Media and the BBC on motoring and consumer issues she has written about Transport and Motoring for over two decades. Founder and editor of Ireland’s first and only website for women on wheels –  www.wheelsforwomen.ie – bikes, cars and motorbikes Geraldine strives to broaden the wider motoring discussion to include sustainability, road safety and inclusivity. She is a graduate of both the NUI and Trinity College.


Mark McCall

Chair and co-founder, EVANI

Mark McCall is the Chair and co-founder of EVANI, the Electric Vehicle Association Northern Ireland. He is a passionate advocate for electric vehicles and is committed to promoting their use in Northern Ireland. Mark has been involved with electric vehicles since 2016 and in his role as Chair of EVANI, he is responsible for leading the association’s work to promote electric vehicles in Northern Ireland. Under Mark’s leadership, EVANI has grown significantly in recent years as the organisation lobbies for improvements in electric vehicle charging infrastructure. A strong advocate for the benefits of EVs, he works with government, businesses, and other stakeholders to raise awareness of their advantages and to advance the clean transportation revolution.

Headshot MSealy (1)

Matthew Sealy

IEVA Chairperson

Matthew Sealy is a Staff Digital Physical Design Engineer with Analog Devices (ADI) and has spent the last few years working in the Industrial Connectivity and Control segment, primarily focused on Industrial Ethernet and Configurable Software IO parts that form part of the Industry 4.0 revolution.
Matthew joined the Irish Electric Vehicle Association (IEVA) in 2022 where he took up the Membership Officer role. Since the 2023 AGM, he has taken up the role of Chairperson of IEVA. Coming from a background of a car & motorcycle enthusiast, which along his work as Chair of the Ireland Green Team Network in ADI, he brings a nice fit to the world of EV adoption, that of an enthusiast & environmental advocate for the current EV adoption that is underway.


Petter Haugneland

Assistant Secretary General, Norwegian Electric Vehicle Association

Petter Haugneland is the Assistant Secretary General at Norwegian Electric Vehicle Association. The association represents over 120,000 Norwegian EV owners and cooperates with policy makers, the electric car industry, and other organizations for the successful introduction of zero emission electric vehicles. Climate and environmental issues combined with interest for new technology drives his passion for electric transport. Petter has a master’s degree in political science from the University of Oslo. He started his career as a communication advisor at the Center for International Climate and Environmental Research in Oslo (CICERO). Later as the communication manager for the EV Association from 2012 before his current position as Assistant Secretary General.


Professor Brian Caulfield

Professor in Transportation & Head of Department, Centre for Transport Research, Trinity College Dublin

Prof Caulfield is Head of Discipline in the Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering. His research addresses global issues such as the environmental impacts of transport and methods to reduce the carbon impacts of transport. Prof Caulfield has published over 200 papers in international journals and conferences and to date has been awarded approx. €7 million in research funding. He currently has 9 PhD students and 6 postdoctoral researchers in his research group. He is a Senior Editor of Renewable & Sustainable Energy Reviews and an Editor of Transport Policy. He is a member of the International Editorial Board of Transportation Research Part D: Transport and Environment, Case Studies on Transport Policy, the Journal of Cycling and Micro-mobility Research, and the Journal of Transport Geography.


Shane Prendergast

Programme Manager for EV Charging Infrastructure

Shane Prendergast is Programme Manager for EV Charging Infrastructure & Policy, Smart Mobility and Smart Networks with the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland. Shane has over 15 years experience in the transport industry from homologation of all vehicles types to now emerging and innovative technology facilitating the journey to a net zero transport sector in Ireland. Shane is currently active in the EV, e-mobility, active travel, developing active consumers and prosumers and empowering citizens in the drive to participation in smart and flexible energy services.

Never miss an update!

Be the first to get event news!

Sponsorship Enquiry

Register for early access